nyc. nation.

Did you see this number blazing down Manhattan?

Perhaps it was just a blur:

Yes, that’s a 1:38:01 half marathon (13.1 miles) at a 7:28 per mile pace. Almost two minutes faster than I thought I’d go. Which is also elite team qualifying. Booyah!

running thru Times Square

Times Square

A little rain at the beginning, no biggie. Started strong in the park, didn’t even notice the hills. Sponge station = genius. Running through Times Square = epic. Skipped the gel zone cause they frighten me. At mile 10, swore that I was done with running forever. Held on til the finish. 2nd half marathon ever.. can’t complain. Oh, and don’t knock the white shorts. They rule.

QOTD: “haha. Yes, quitting the sport entirely in the midst of a PR might have been a bit premature 🙂 Awesomeness” -Beth (future in-house council)

After the race, my brother inexplicably wouldn’t give me a hug.

This is about as close as he would get. (Okay, so I was reeeeally sweaty).

Also worth mentioning: The Twin completed the half, with hip and foot intact.

Official race pics have just been posted on brightroom.com. You can search by name.

8 Responses to nyc. nation.

  1. Skybil says:

    YAY!!! CONGRATS!! You’re crazier than a shit house rat!

  2. dpnation says:

    don’t i live in your shit house? or, shit shed?
    (what was that quote about a retarded alcoholic moving in.. oh right.)

    at least i didn’t break any bones doing this race. you should be proud!

  3. Sandi says:

    Hi,

    I’m working with Takkle.com, a social networking site for sports. Members can post photos, videos, share stats and schedules, and a whole lot more with others throughout the community. Takkle is a place where students, athletes, coaches, and fans can share their passion for sports.

    I feel that your site is very useful. I would love to know if you could link to our social networking resource.

    Thanks,
    Sandi

  4. Kimtern says:

    Wait, you have a brother? How can I be living with you next year and no so little about you. Apparently we need to discuss topics other than spin class.

  5. Wes says:

    This would be cooler:

  6. dpnation says:

    wow, that would pretty much make me the fastest person IN THE UNIVERSE. where’s my invite to beijing, USOC??

    kimberdoodle, i don’t think we’ve ever had a conversation that wasn’t related to cycling or possibly tivo. not that there’s anything wrong with that.

  7. […] normally summertime is when I ramp up my running. But I just qualified for some USA Cycling Development Camps, so I’m not sure what to do now, […]

  8. […] The most helpful thing for a beginner or advanced runner is to find a running partner or group. For beginners, it makes you accountable not to skip the workouts, for advanced runners, it’s a good way to make sure you’re getting your speedwork and drills in. The one time that I regularly did speedwork was for the NYC Half Marathon, with the Nike Run Club, and it turned out pretty well in the end. […]

Leave a Reply

