fraudulent. findings.


So my friends at Chase Visa gave me a call last week, to inform me that they were shutting down my card, as they feared it had been compromised. It was a little odd, since they called to tell me they were giving me the kabosh, rather than asking if I wanted it to be shut down. But I digress, that’s not the point of the story.

After the rep said that they were putting the card on hold, he wanted to go through some recent transactions to make sure that they were legit. Sure, no problem. But I had no idea that going over one’s purchasing habits with a total stranger would be so…. revealing.

Rep: Niketown in San Francisco on 11/5?
DP: okay, so it wasn’t purely a business trip. At least I didn’t put it on the corp AMEX?

Rep: Walgreens on 11/9?
DP: Hmm.. oh yes, that was the dog Snuggie.

Rep: International Bicycle for [let’s just say a lot of money]?
DP: I obviously needed a new cyclocross bike. Don’t judge.

Rep: Educational Consulting Services for $1.50?
DP: That one definitely sounds suspicious.

I hope being credit card-less will be an acceptable excuse not to buy anyone xmas presents this year. Right?

Leave a Reply

